Subscribe: RSS
  • Hi,

I only started keeping bees last year.

I have just opened up my over-wintered hive to inspect for the first time. I found that the brood box was essentially full of bees already, combs full of honey, the queen was observed and seems to be laying with abandon with plenty of larvae in all stages of development and drone cells already being constructed. Not what I expected at all from an over wintered hive.

I am worried that at this rate it wont be long before the concentration of bees stimulates swarming, so I need to give them room.

So, my question is whether it is ok to super the hive with a QE so early in the season or should I give them a super as an extra 1/2 brood/

All advice appreciated,

Simon
    • I opened mine 10 days ago and had the same scenario, very busy and very good tempered bees and lots of sealed brood. I'm only in my second year so unable to advise but I made the decision to put in the QE on my hive that is a brood and a half, as the brood was confined to the brood box. Tons of bees in the prunus trees and autumn sown oilseed rape is starting to flower around here so fingers crossed for a good year.I will watch and see whether I have done the right thing!Quote from: simonchandler at Mar 20, 2014, 10:41 PM
      undefined
      • Thanks Paul. I have decided to super w/QE them, as you say the cherry and oil seed rape are flowering and the bees are coming back laden up with pollen so perhaps I can tap into a very early flow.

Time will tell I suppose.

S
        • That's three of us young men what have done the same thing then, what we need is an old hand to tell us if we are right or otherwise
          • That's three of us young men what have done the same thing then, what we need is an old hand to tell us if we are right or otherwise
            • Make that four!

I put supers on my hives 2 weeks ago.

One hive has some new uncapped stores in the super.

The other hives have hardly any bees in there.